

## **PRESS RELEASE**

## MFA WELCOMES THREE NEW BOARD DIRECTORS, PETER HORGAN RE-APPOINTED AS CHAIR

**25 February 2020:** The Media Federation of Australia (MFA) board has appointed three new directors and unanimously voted to re-appoint Chair Peter Horgan and Deputy Chair Megan Brownlow, at its first meeting for 2020 held yesterday in Sydney.

The three directors joining the board are Sue Squillace, CEO Australia & New Zealand at Carat; Aimee Buchanan, CEO of OMD; and Jimmy Hyett, Managing Director & Founder of This Is Flow.

Hyett takes over the local media agency director post vacated by Virginia Hyland, Founder & Principal of HYLAND. The position is elected by local media agency members to represent the local sector.

At yesterday's meeting the board also voted to re-appoint Omnicom Media Group ANZ CEO Peter Horgan as Chair and independent non-executive director Megan Brownlow as Deputy Chair for an additional two-year term each.

Mark Coad retains his position on the board, now representing IPG Mediabrands, a post previously held by IPG Mediabrands APAC CEO Leigh Terry.

MFA CEO Sophie Madden said: "We are delighted to welcome the new directors to the MFA board, and to welcome back Peter Horgan and Megan Brownlow, who were unanimously re-appointed by the board. MFA CEO Sophie Madden said: "We are delighted to welcome the new directors to the MFA board, and congratulate Peter Horgan and Megan Brownlow on their re-appointments. Personally, I'm proud of the diversity of the MFA board, including an equal split of men and women, reflecting our industry's strong gender equality scorecard.

"This team places the MFA in an exceptional position to continue to advance our industry, its people, tools and processes, and in being able to address today's challenges. The role of MFA board director requires time away from businesses and families, and a significant amount of after-hours work. I would like to acknowledge the contribution and commitment of all our board directors, and particularly the outgoing directors, Virginia Hyland and Leigh Terry."

Jimmy Hyett said of his appointment: "I'm extremely proud to have been elected by my peers to be the voice for the independent agency community. Throughout my career, NGEN to now, the MFA has been the consistent thread fuelling my career, and I look forward to paying that back, by leading industry change and innovation that will guide us well into an ever-evolving future."





## The full board of the MFA now comprises:

Sophie Madden, CEO, MFA Peter Horgan, CEO, Omnicom Media Group ANZ – Chair Megan Brownlow, Non-executive Director – Deputy Chair Mark Coad, CEO, IPG Mediabrands Australia Mark Lollback, CEO, GroupM ANZ Toby Barbour, CEO, Publicis Media ANZ Katie Rigg-Smith, CEO, Mindshare Australia Mel Fein, CEO, Initiative Australia Brett Dawson, Founder &CEO, Bohemia Group Sue Squillace, CEO, Carat ANZ Aimee Buchanan, CEO, OMD Jimmy Hyett, Managing Director & Founder, This Is Flow

> For more information, please contact: Andrea Sophocleous T: 0431 98 94 99 E: andrea.sophocleous@gmail.com

## About the MFA

The Media Federation of Australia (MFA) is the peak body representing media communication companies. The MFA is a non-for-profit organisation established in 1997 with a current membership base that represents over 90% of all media billings placed by media agencies in Australia. The MFA's vision is to encourage operational excellence in the field of media communication connections and to define and develop best practice standards to support its members and the role they play in servicing their clients.